New York, NY

Three scientific researchers and the head of a major pharmaceutical company received the highest honors from the Cancer Research Institute at its 23rd Annual Awards Dinner, held June 11th at the St. Regis in New York City.  Close to 200 guests attended the black-tie event, which each year celebrates outstanding scientific and lay contributions to cancer research.

This year, the Institute bestowed the Oliver R. Grace Award for Distinguished Service in Advancing Cancer Research upon Fred Hassan, chairman and CEO of Schering-Plough Corporation, for leading his company’s commitment to basic and translational cancer research and its dedication to developing immune-based approaches to the treatment of cancer and infectious and inflammatory diseases.

The William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic Immunology was awarded jointly to Frederick W. Alt and Klaus Rajewsky of the Immune Diseases Institute/Harvard Medical School for their fundamental contributions to our understanding of B-cell development and function, and the mechanisms underlying B cell lymphomagenesis.  The William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Tumor Immunology was awarded to Cornelis J.M. Melief of Leiden University for his novel insights into the relationship between tumors and the immune system, and for his development of innovative therapies that have been applied in the clinic or are being translated in the clinic based on improved insights into cell-mediated immunity.

MSNBC anchor and correspondent Alex Witt emceed the dinner, which raised $629,000 for the Institute.  For more info, please go to:

Axel Hoos, Pam Sharma, Claudia & Ralph Steinman
Rod Unsworth, Pasquale Cetera
Cornelis Melief, James Allison
Fred Hassan, Don Gogel
The Hassan Girls
Nelly Steffens, Erika Ritter
Tom Seifert, Jill O'Donnell-Tormey, Ann Seifert
Fred Alt, Jill O'Donnell-Tormey, Cornelius Melief, Klaus Rajewsky
Rebecca Johnson, Carles Ubeda
Leslie Toepfer, Charles Hecht
Jill O'Donnell-Tormey, Tom & Andy Mendell, Malcolm Moore
John Damonti, Kim Hodges, Mike Suchanek, Colin Baigel
Joan and Gavin Solotar
Marissa Schneider, Ben Knapik
Jeff & Peggy May, Samir & Rima Khalil
Mark Krul, Harvey Brandwein, Cornelis Melief
Steve & Anne Marie Feiock
Noveen and Fred Hassan
Fred Hassan and Brendan Dougher
Leigh Soda, Mindy & Angelo Falcone
Lauren Veronis, Dr. Fred Alt
Mauro Bonugli, Meredith Oppenheim
Kathi Watts Grossman, Arthur & Lois Stainman
Brian Brewer, Alex Witt, Alfred Massidas
Klaus Rajewsky, Glenn Dranoff
Ellen Pure, Hao Wu, Michelle Pilloff, Lynne Harmer
Margaret & Andy Paul, Michelle Mager
Michael & Denise Kellen
James Allison, Fred Alt, Lauren Veronis, Glen Tringali
Zoe Liu, Sean Kass
Leonora Gogolaka, Jonathan Lewis
Don Gogel, Jill O'Donnell-Tormey, Fred Hassen
Ann Seifert, Mrs. Oliver Grace, Tom Seifert
Ed and Trip McDermott
Nina De Lorenzo, Fred Malley
Phil Greenberg, Mark Krul, James Allison
Suzanne Lehman, Valentina Cassata, Joan Solotar
Adam Kolol and Friend
Harvey Brandwein, Connie Trimble
Alexis Feldman, Marissa Schneider, Josephine Vella
Carlos & Rosemary Ferrer, Christine & Esteban Ferrer
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Posner
Alex Witt
Susan Nacorda and Kelsey Fowler
Andy Paul, Fred Hassan
Don Gogel, Alex Witt
Alex Witt, Klaus Rajewsky
Glenn Dranoff, Fred Alt, Klaus Rajewsky